Ransom: A Poem

I’m fractured, fragmented

Or blurred. These parts of me

Aren’t seamless. I am

Patchwork, a ransom note

I am scraps and pieces

That make no sense together

Merely placed in the same body.

Lucky coincidence?

Parts of me are polar

My brain a patchwork chemical

Quilt of highs to lows.

Euphoria and self destruction.

Forgive me when I do not appear

To know whether to hold on,

Or push away, these things take time.

electricity shall jump start

The tectonic plates of emotions to

Start an earthquake and make volcanos

Erupt.

Forget me, I’m fragmented, part

This, part that. Black or white.

Not a single hue of grey.

I’ve written so many ransom notes

To my own brain to know this now.

My heart the companion bomb

Ticking itself away with no hands

To show how much time remains.

(A.T)

Leave a comment